Aftermath of a Concise Rejection Slip

So my first novel, which I had decided to self-publish anyway, gets rejected again in a short and sweet rejection email.

How do I feel about it? Not so bad I suppose. Rejection is meant to sting by nature, and maybe I need to use this to improve the story in some way. Maybe this is a wake up call. Or maybe I should know that I always wanted to go the self-publishing route and retain complete control of my work.

It was always going to be a tough sell as it is. It’s a story about death. Isolation. Cancer. The breakdown of the family structure. Pain. Regret. Ambiguous sexuality. Not the sort of stuff that flies off the shelves. But these are feelings that we all share, like it or not, and I wanted to represent that in the most honest way I could. There’s some humor in there too. It’s not a total downer.

It  has now been assessed and unfortunately the balance of opinion was against  making an offer to publish

Hmm. Does this mean that maybe someone liked it and wanted it published, but others didn’t and they wielded more power in the office? Maybe it’s a template on Word and they churn these things out to soften the blow a bit. Who really knows? Bottom line: I remain an unpublished author.

[undisclosed publisher] currently receives about six hundred manuscripts a year of which we publish less  than thirty. Given this pressure of demand, and the need to achieve a balance  between the various genres, and the claims of emerging and established writers,  we are able to accept only a small percentage of submissions to any area of our  program.

Okay. Six hundred manuscripts, of which they accept less than thirty. That’s 5%. So my chances of recieving an offer were slim to begin with. I can accept that. If someone says you have a 5% chance of survival, you’d start the preparations for your own funeral, right?

