A Misery Litany

My mother is miserable.

My father is miserable. He gets angry at relatively minor things.

My mother-in-law is really miserable, so miserable I’m surprised she can even function.

My friends are miserable. They try to cover it with alcohol, but it still shows no matter how many pints of Heineken they imbibe.

My co-workers are miserable. We share our misery over Friday lunch at the pub. It feels good to talk and share feelings, but this is only temporary and soon enough we are all miserable again.

When I drive to work each morning, I look over at my fellow drivers as we stop at red lights. They are all miserable and they don’t know what to do about it. Drink-drive or road rage tonight?

Is it any wonder that I too am miserable? I’m surrounded by misery at every turn.

 

