Game 1: vs Memphis Grizzlies

The Good: Our long-range shooting. We went 11-20 from beyond the 3, and that’s really what made the difference. Our bench play was brilliant, particularly in the 2nd quarter. I liked Patty Mills’ confidence from beyond the arc, though he’s never been shy when it comes to hoisting shots from just about anywhere. It seems that coach Pop has confidence in Mills early, seemingly over Cory Joseph (who he went to as backup in the playoffs last year) and de Colo (who seemingly has no role on this team anymore).

I like what I saw from Ginobili and Marco Belinelli when they played together, and I hope to see more as the season progresses. They have similar styles of play. Belinelli is like Diet Ginobili.

I love Boris Diaw’s game. I personally prefer him over Tiago Splitter, but I get why Pop goes to Splitter more. I just love Diaw’s ability to get easy buckets under the hoop and his passing ability. Both he and Parker (The French Connection) work so well in tandem.

The Bad: Tim Duncan was ineffective in his limited time out on the court. He got banged up while defending a Tony Allen drive, where Allen elbowed Duncan in the chest. Duncan left the game and didn’t return. They’re saying it is a chest contusion. Not a great start to the season for Timmy.

The Ugly: The offense from both teams. Despite scoring over 100, the Spurs didn’t play particularly well on either end of the floor. They pretty much won the game in the 2nd quarter, outscoring the Grizz 30-7 to establish a 21 point lead at the main break.

Also, Sean Elliott is an awful commentator and should not be employed. I’m a Spurs fan, but is there a more homerific color man in the league?

 

Other Notes: I caught the second half of the Pistons-Wizards game. Greg Monroe is a beast. I like what the Pistons have got this season and think they’ll end up in the playoffs this year. They’re loaded.

I didn’t get to catch Warriors-Lakers but I saw that Klay Thompson went for 38! Got him in my fantasy league team so I’m happy. Hope he keeps up the good play.

Miami loses to the Sixers, sans Dwyane Wade. Hmm.

