Let’s NBA

Random Thoughts:

  • It feels, to me, like we’re headed to a replay of the 2012 Finals this year, with Miami and OKC squaring off once more. I’m a Spurs fan, but I have to admit that the thought of Durant vs LeBron Part 2 has me pretty pumped for June to roll around. Even though those Finals were over and done in five games, they were all competitive games.
  • Dwight Howard looks like a completely different player this year compared to the last two or three. He was clearly ailing in LA, and he obviously didn’t mesh well with that hot mess of a team. Also, I like that a prominent player spurned a big market for a not-so-big market. This is a good sign for the future of the NBA.
  • I didn’t think the Pacers would get much back for Danny Granger. Certainly not Evan Turner. I know the Sixers were looking too offload talent at the trade deadline and maybe the carrot was Granger’s hefty expiring contract. No contract seems immovable these days. Who’d of thought Gilbert Arena’s albatross of a deal would be moveable a few years back?
  • I’m concerned about my Spurs. We look like world-beaters when healthy, but we’re not healthy right now. We had good road wins last week against the Clippers and Blazers (sans LaMarcus Aldridge), but got killed by Phoenix. And I think if we meet OKC in the playoffs, we’ll be lucky to win more than one game.
  • I’m tired of getting psyched for the trade deadline, only to be disappointed when it comes and goes. The buzz for players the likes of Rajon Rondo, Carmelo Anthony, Kevin Love, DeMarcus Cousins etc to be potentially shifted got replaced by the reality that the biggest name to be moved was Evan Freaking Turner. Damn you, new CBA. Owners are getting scared.
  • Likewise, no more excitement for All-Star weekend. It is a bore. To be honest, I haven’t enjoyed this since I was in my teens, and I’m not even sure if I liked it then either. Joakim Noah was the only one trying in the game, the rest were just going through the motions. The “celebrity” game needs to be axed, for the benefit of mankind.
  • A rumor that surfaced around the AS break from George Karl was that Tim Duncan might retire at the end of this season. I don’t know if I’m mentally prepared for such an event. I thought I had a couple more years left with him.
