Manifesto

In the interest of full disclosure, I thought now might be as good a time as any to explain the Modus operandi in terms of my writing and what I hope to express with it.

Okay. I don’t write stories where the protagonists overcome emotional or physical obstacles and learn profound life lessons along the way. My characters don’t necessarily improve or show growth of any kind. They devolve, if anything. In many cases, they become worse as a result of whatever they are experiencing.

I do get why readers want the people that they read about to undergo these changes, but I have no interest in writing (or reading) those kinds of stories. Life just isn’t like that. I want to write about life in as honest a way as possible. Life, to me at least, is mainly difficult with small moments of happiness/serenity to break up the misery. These things can be something as seemingly menial as your daughter saying something spontaneous and brilliant that just makes you smile because you know she’s expressing happiness and wonder in a very real way, free of the shackles that limit what adults will reveal about themselves. Adults need to worry about what others will think of them. Kids aren’t concerned about that yet. These moments are amazing and precious.

I don’t write about vampires and the angst that they experience over their vampirism and/or romantic endeavors. I don’t write about post-apocalyptic zombie outbreaks either. I don’t write about bondage, not so far at least. I don’t write books in parts. There won’t be a Canswer: Book 7 of 63 for example. But here’s the thing: I’m trying as hard as possible to not look down the bridge of my nose at both the writers of that material, and its consumer. There’s clearly a market for this type of writing, and an author to produce it. Who am I to judge such things?

My literary heroes are Charles Bukowski and Jonathan Ames. I hope I don’t rip them off too much. They say that imitation is the most sincere form of flattery after all. My sporting heroes are Tim Duncan and David Robinson. Both have quiet demeanors and let their actions do the talking for them. I have huge admiration for both athletes. My personal heroes are my mother and my daughter. Two strong females that have no sense of just how strong they actually are.

I love women but I probably don’t write them very well, or perhaps as well as I should. In Canswer, the lead female character has decided to strip in order to fund a new life. Maybe this might be considered misogynistic in some way. I don’t know. I figure it’s a shortcut to a better life.

I love writing but I don’t particularly enjoy the world of self-publishing at the moment. I’m not business minded and I lack the gumption required to “pound the pavement” and spread the word about my books. I go on the Amazon self-publishing forums and am put off by the pettiness and backbiting that goes on in there. I get that it’s a competitive industry but I would’ve thought being a marginalized commodity may have birthed a sense of community and camaraderie, but no. So I don’t get involved.

