Wanted to Hate Her – Couldn’t

So I recently watched Spike Jonze’s Her. Admittedly, I went into this with more than a little hesitation. I mean, the premise – a man falling for his Operating System – felt like a bad Saturday Night Live sketch. What a ridiculous concept for a full length film. Or so I thought. See, in the wrong hands, Her could’ve been a dud of Ishtar-esque proportions. Clearly though, Jonze was the man for the job. And why was I so reticent to partake in the first place? Adaptation might be my all-time favorite film, and Being John Malkovich wouldn’t be too far behind. I guess the film nerd in me credits Charlie Kaufman more as the mastermind behind those movies, rather than Spike.

But my fears were short-lived. Her is a beautiful film, and surprisingly touching.

Every morning, as I wait for the train and 99.9% of the people on the platform are pawing aimlessly at their phones like mindless zombies, I think to myself: maybe falling in love with an OS isn’t so far-fetched after all…

