All Of Our Heroes are (Alleged) Sleazebags

Jimmy Saville, Rolf Harris, now Bill Cosby – is this the End of Days?

Three men who were such a big part of so many people’s childhoods. Saville and Harris were before my time, but I would watch The Cosby Show religiously as a pre-teen.

Cliff Huxtable showed adults how to be effective parents, and his onscreen offspring provided a template for me as a happy and thriving child. The allegations made against Bill Cosby shook me to the core. I remember reading his book Fatherhood. I was ten. Most of the content went over my head, because, well, I was ten. It didn’t matter, because Cosby was funny and played the role of the great father so very convincingly.

In a fantastic yet chilling Huffington Post article, there are mentions of allegations against Cosby date back to 2005, with alleged assaults dating back to the late 1960’s.

Tales of drink-spiking, molesting former cast members of his TV show have come to light. It should be stated that I prescribe to the notion of “innocent until proven guilty”, but the evidence is pretty damning.

These men are not the kitten-maiming, blood-guzzling spawns of Beelzebub you would expect to commit such alleged acts of atrocity. Instead, they are performers that we let into our homes and hearts, figuratively speaking. We trusted them to be he guiding voices for our youth in their formative years, a fact that makes these indiscretions all the more insidious.

I don’t know what any of this means. Who can we trust now? Is the entire world corrupt and morally bankrupt?

I shudder to think how the world will operate when my daughter is old enough to form an opinion on the world.

